25 Oct 2020


Namorunyang Parliamentary Committees’ Chairpersons Sworn In

Namorunyang State Legislative Assembly’s Heads of Specialised Committees were on Wednesday named and sworn into office.

By Peter Lokale Nakimangole

TORIT, 10 June 2016 [Gurtong] – Deputized by Hon. Abdalla Lokeno, the Committee of Local Government, Security and Public Order has been awarded to Hon. Peter Lokuju Lotirimoi as Chairperson while Hon. Samira Ayien Louis has been sworn in as the Parliamentary Committee Chairperson of Members Affairs with Hon. Marhta Nasuroi being her deputy.

Hon. Arungole Rino Loremo takes the post of Finance, Public Account and Public Service Committee as Chairperson and is being deputized by Hon.  Abraham Lotaak Natabo.

Hon. Chief Joseph Celepus, being deputized by Hon. Justin Lobuya Napee, for Physical Infrastructure Committee while Hon. Christine Nakwar and Hon. Joseph Lokodo Colombos have been sworn in as Chairperson and deputy Chair respectively for Health, Environment, Social Development Committee.

Hon. Angelo Lomoi Joseph becomes the Chairperson of Information, Humanitarian Affairs Committee, and is deputized by Karlo Lopuke Amoni while Hon. Charles Lokonoi Ambrose declared the Chief-Whip Hon. Benjamin Lopeyok Kumuya becomes the Parliamentary and Cabinet Affairs Committee's Chairperson.

Presiding over the swearing in ceremony was the president of the High Court in Namorunyang State, his Justice Kulang Jereboam.

The Namorunyang State Legislative Assembly’s Speaker Rt. Hon. Peter Bosco Lotyang commended the first leadership of the named specialized committees saying it was a long awaited exercise.

The Speaker urged the new leaderships of the Parliamentary Committees alongside the MPs to start working hard and collaborate so to fulfil the given tasks ahead of them.
“We should work together with the executive as a team in implementing and achieving the State government objectives and goals,” said the Speaker.

He however said that the executive should not see the chairpersons of the Assembly as opposition but adopt a new way of working together for a common good to achieve the same objectives and meet interests of the citizens.

The Speaker expressed optimism as he pledged that the State will stabilize security in the country.

He urged the chairpersons, deputies and MPs to work without reservation and to create conducive environment for the citizens to live in peace and harmony.

The leader strongly discouraged hate speech and gossip among the law makers saying that “This will create hatred that will disorganize the entire system and hinder the outputs that will set a wrong mark for the State and the State would remain behind in all developmental issues. Let us be united and serve our people as they gave us the trust to lead them in the right direction of peace and development.”

The swearing ceremony was attended among others the Minister of Finance and Economic Planning Hon. Titos Lokwachuma and Minister of Local Government, Khamis Peter Lokaale.

Posted in: Home
RSS comment feed
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Add Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)


Enter the code shown above in the box below
Featured Videos
  • What is The National Dialogue?South Sudan Peace Process
  • Expectations of the National DialogueSouth Sudan Peace Process
  • Gurtong Mobile Cinema
What is The National Dialogue?1 Expectations of the National Dialogue2 Gurtong Mobile Cinema3



Gurtong Radio

Peace Efforts Earn Bishop Paride Taban Top UN Award

 English Programs     |      برامج اللغة العربية