3 Jun 2020


International Boundary Commission Team In Bahr el Ghazal Region

“As part of the African Union, five countries outside south Sudan are supporting this process of developing the recommendations of appropriate states, boundary and the reconstitution of the council of states,..."

By James Deng Dimo

Wau, 14  May, 2019 [GURTONG] – Representatives from11 states of Bahr el Ghazal Region, including Abyei Administration Area, have kicked off a discussion on the Number of states, boarders and the issue of members of council of states.

The meeting is being led by the International Boundary Commission (IBC), led by Edward Chezee from African Union (AU) and co-team, including Dr. Lam Akol Ajawin from South Sudan and Joseph Madesio.

Speaking during the opening ceremony, Chezee said their objectives as IBC in Bahr el Ghazal region is to collect the opinions of the people representing states on the number of states, boarders and the
issues of members of council of states.

“As part of the African Union, five countries outside south Sudan are supporting this process of developing the recommendations of appropriate states, boundary and the reconstitution of the council of states, so I represent Rwanda which is part of them, part of IBC, the Independent Commission, our role is now to assess the report which was development by the TBC”, said Chezee.
“The main of objective is to collate your opinions on the number of states, their boundaries and the structuring of council of states,” he said.

On his part, Wau State Governor, Angelo Taban, said the issue is very important because it gives the chance to each state to state their case so that we can settle on agreed borders, so that citizens stop continuing to complain.

“The chiefs who are in this meeting will take the message to their people who are out there because, as we had been telling you, it is not the responsibility of the governors to talk about the issue of boarders. Some people were saying, the governor does not want to resolve the problem of the boarders with so and so, but we told them no “ We don’t have mandates to work on the issue of boarders. Our people in Wau, Tonj, Gogrial and so on, are not given mandate to demarcate the boarders. Those who are to talk about the boarders are now here today,” said Governor Taban.

The IBC consists of 15 members nominated among the Parties, supported by five experts nominated by the member states of the African Union High Level Ad Hoc Committee on South Sudan (South Africa, Algeria, Chad, Nigeria and Rwanda). 

Pursuant to the R-ARCSS, the commission will consider the report of the Technical Boundary Committee (TBC) on the South Sudan tribal boundaries as they stood on 1 January 1956. The IBC is expected to deliver their decision in 90 days.

The Commission was established under article 1.15 of the R-ARCSS and is made of fifteen members namely, five from the Incumbent TGoNU, two from SPLM/A-IO, one from South Sudan Opposition Alliance, one from Former Detainees and one from Other Political Parties. The other five, of whom two are yet to arrive, are highly experienced C5 members nominated by the member States of the African Union High-Level Ad Hoc Committee on South Sudan from South Africa, Nigeria, Rwanda, Algeria and Chad. 
Posted in: Home
RSS comment feed
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Add Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)


Enter the code shown above in the box below
Featured Videos
  • What is The National Dialogue?South Sudan Peace Process
  • Expectations of the National DialogueSouth Sudan Peace Process
  • Gurtong Mobile Cinema
What is The National Dialogue?1 Expectations of the National Dialogue2 Gurtong Mobile Cinema3



Gurtong Radio

Peace Efforts Earn Bishop Paride Taban Top UN Award

 English Programs     |      برامج اللغة العربية